Mozart / Horn Quintet in E-flat major, K. 407 (Timothy Brown)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jun 14, 2012

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Horn Quintet in E-flat major, K. 407/386c (1782)

00:00 - Allegro
06:22 - Andante
13:50 - Allegro

Performed by members of the Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields Chamber Ensemble (1980).

Horn - Timothy Brown
Violin - Iona Brown
Viola I - Stephen Shingles
Viola II - Anthony Jenkins
Violoncello - Denis Vigay

"The Horn Quintet K. 407 is more of a concerto 'en miniature' than a chamber work. Remarkably, the string quartet contains not two violins but two violas, and functions principally as an accompaniment, whilst the horn provides the distinctive colouring. The two outer movements, like most of Mozart's music for Leutgeb, are humorous in character, particularly the rondo finale, which opens with a jovial fanfare theme. As in the horn concertos the limited possibilities of the natural horn are exploited wittily and skilfully; even cadenzas are provided for. In contrast to the outer movements, the Andante has a lyrical, cantabile quality. The violin becomes independent and performs a duet with the horn." - Alfred Beaujean (trans. Joanne Poole)

Painting: A Courtesan (Smiling Girl Holding an Obscene Image), Gerard van Honthorst

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Music


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...