Beethoven - King Stephen, Op. 117





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.


Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Feb 17, 2015

Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia
Myung-Whun Chung

King Stephen, Op. 117 (König Stephan) is a commemorative work composed by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1811. It includes an overture in E flat major and nine vocal numbers. Only the overture is usually played today. The title refers to King Stephen I, founder of the kingdom of Hungary in the year 1000.

In 1808 Emperor Francis I of Austria commissioned the construction of a large theatre in Budapest, to alleviate the nationalist feelings incipient in Hungary and to celebrate the loyalty of Hungary to the Austrian monarchy. At the time of the inauguration of this theatre in 1811, Beethoven was commissioned to put to music two commemorative texts written by August von Kotzebue: King Étienne and Ruins of Athens. These overtures are among the least played orchestral works of the composer

0:00 Overture (Andante con moto - Presto, E-flat major)
6:34 Male chorus: Ruhend von seinen Thaten (Andante maestoso e con moto, C major)
10:49 Male chorus: Auf dunkelm in finstern Hainen Wandelten (Allegro con brio - C minor)
12:38 Victory march (Feurig und stolz - G major)
18:46 Female chorus: Wo die Unschuld Blumen streute (Andante con moto all'Ongarese - A major)
21:12 Melodrama (Stéphan): Du hast dein Vaterland
22:06 Chorus: Eine neue strahlende Sonne (Vivace - F major)
22:41 Melodrama (Stéphan): Ihr edlen Ungarn! (Maestoso con moto - D major)
26:36 a. Religious March (Moderato - B-flat major)
28:45 b. Melodrama with chorus: Heil unserm Konige! (Allegro vivace e con brio - B-flat major)
35:00 Final chorus: Heil! Heil unserm Enkeln (Presto - D major)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...