Water Pieces by Alan Holley played by Ljiljana Vukelja




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 4, 2014

Water Pieces (1993) for solo piano by Alan Holley
played by Ljiljana Vukelja, piano
A concert of chamber music by Australian composer Alan Holley was held at Kolorac Hall in Belgrade, Serbia on June 25th 2014.

"These pieces arose from thinking about the sounds and stories of waterways on the east coast of Australia.
Mvt I - Pittwater, Sydney's northern waterway where many sailing boats are moored.
Mvt II - Lady Elliot Island, a small coral island on the Great Barrier Reef - seabirds and the sound of the lapping ocean.
Mvt III - In the early 20th century, Suzannah McKee, the wife of the lighthouse keeper on Lady Elliot Island was driven to suicide by the extreme isolation of her situation. It is said that she dressed in her best clothes and walked into the sea. In this piece I imagine that in the last seconds of her life she saw prisms of light caught in drops of blue-green water." AH
Dedicated to John and Sue Edmonds


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...